About Us

The First District Water Department (FDWD) provides clean, safe water each and every day to more than 40,000 residents in Norwalk and small areas of New Canaan, Wilton and Westport, as well as to businesses in our service area.

Our Watershed

The FDWD watershed covers 10 square miles in Connecticut and New York. Our water capacity is close to one billion gallons from four reservoirs:  Scotts Reservoir, Browns Reservoir, Milne Reservoir and Grupes Reservoir mainly in the towns of Lewisboro, NY and New Canaan, CT.  Downstream, along the Norwalk River, lies the Kellogg-Deering wellfield which supplies a small amount of groundwater to our system.

Board of Commissioners

The Norwalk First District Water Department (FDWD) is presided over by a Board of Commissioners and officers representing the First Taxing District of the City of Norwalk principally for purposes of water supply. The original charter was granted to the Borough of Norwalk in 1870 which is now the First Taxing District of the City of Norwalk. Its function is the collection, treatment and distribution of water for domestic, commercial and industrial uses and fire protection in the First Taxing District and in portions of the Third, Fourth and Fifth Taxing Districts in the City of Norwalk as well as small areas outside in New Canaan, Westport and Wilton.

Operations and General Manager

The General Manager is responsible for the day to day operation of the FDWD.  The General Manager reports directly to the Commissioners and makes recommendations concerning necessary improvements and requests funding for water supply system capital improvements as well as operating expenses. All FDWD policies and procedures are reviewed by the General Manager.

© 2016 First District Water Department, ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. • Privacy & UseSite Map